close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Story Time & More

Preschool

2019-10-24 11:00:00 2019-10-24 12:00:00 America/New_York Story Time & More Story times open up the world of books, music, culture, and play to young children and their families. Registration is required for all. Lake Community Branch

Thursday, October 24
11:00am - 12:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-10-24 11:00:00 2019-10-24 12:00:00 America/New_York Story Time & More Story times open up the world of books, music, culture, and play to young children and their families. Registration is required for all. Lake Community Branch

Lake Community Branch

Meeting Room

Story times open up the world of books, music, culture, and play to young children and their families. Registration is required for all.

FAQs

Why is story time important?
With an early introduction to skills such as holding a book or listening to stories, children have a better chance at succeeding in school, which translates into positive outcomes later in life. Our Start Smart initiative focuses on providing the information and tools that parents, caregivers, and educators need to facilitate early literacy development. Early Literacy is the knowledge a child develops about reading and writing before actually learning to read or write. 

What is the role of a parent or caregiver during story time?
A parent or caregiver must be present in the Library throughout the duration of the program. It is encouraged that the parent or caregiver remain in the story time area because it is the perfect time to gain awareness of age-appropriate books, music, songs and activities suited for your child.

How can a parent or caregiver make the most of story time?

  • By attending story time regularly.
  • By arriving a few minutes early.
  • By participating when encouraged to do so.
  • By not bringing food or toys.
  • By taking an upset child out of the area until he or she calms down.
  • By talking with your child about the stories afterward.
  • By repeating the story time rhymes and songs at home with your child.

Lake Community Branch

lake@starklibrary.org
Phone: 330-877-9975

Branch manager
Julie Burley

Hours
We're closed Monday June 01
We're closed Tuesday June 02
We're closed Wednesday June 03
We're closed Thursday June 04
We're closed Friday June 05
We're closed Saturday June 06
We're closed Sunday June 07
We're closed Monday June 08
Mon, Jun 01 Closed
Tue, Jun 02 Closed
Wed, Jun 03 Closed
Thu, Jun 04 Closed
Fri, Jun 05 Closed
Sat, Jun 06 Closed
Sun, Jun 07 Closed

About the branch

Located within the Lake Community Center, this branch is located among Lake High, Middle School and the YMCA.

Upcoming events